Week 10 – 2. Practical: Review your blog

a. Is the layout clean and easy to read? Have you used headings in a way that attracts attention to key points? Is white space used appropriately?

I tried to ensure that I used an easy to read theme in the design of my blog, that uses headings of a different colour to attract the reader’s attention. I also used this colour in my hyperlinks, and used italics and bolding to highlight important headings, sections and information.

I selected a theme that used a nice and simple sans serif font, as according to Ames (2015, p. 4), they are slightly less informal than serif fonts, and they can still be readable in large blocks of text if the font is big enough.

As for white space, I tried to ensure that my text did not take up the whole page by having wide margins on either side to provide a visual break (Ames 2015, pp. 5-6).


b. Have you completed all the tasks? Check that you have completed all blog requirements and ensure that you have responded to all weekly requirements. Check this against the ‘Blog Task Requirements’ on page two of this activity sheet.

WEEK 1

☑ 1. Inquiry Review news articles

☑ 2. Practical Register your blog

☑ 3. Technical Quiz 1

WEEK 2

☑ 1. Inquiry Review Trendsmap

☑ 2. Practical Register a Twitter account and follow 20 users

☑ 3. Technical Quiz 2

WEEK 3

☑ 1. Inquiry Review media coverage of an issue of interest

☑ 2. Practical Register a Storify account and reflect on Storify

☑ 3. Technical Quiz 3

WEEK 4

☑ 1. Inquiry Review poorly written and a well-written news stories

☑ 2. Practical Plan for Assignment 3

☑ 3. Technical Quiz 4

WEEK 5

☑ 1. Inquiry Review an article that has impact because of sources and speech

☑ 2. Practical Interview two people

☑ 3. Technical Quiz 5A and 5B

WEEK 6

☑ 1. Inquiry Review a Cirque du Soleil media kit

☑ 2. Practical Photo essay

☑ 3. Technical Quiz 6A and 6B

WEEK 7

☑ 1. Inquiry Review a newsletter

☑ 2. Practical Review assignment 1

☑ 3. Technical Quiz 7A and Quiz 7B

WEEK 8

☑ 1. Inquiry Review a social media platform

☑ 2. Practical Write a review of a social media platform

☑ 3. Technical Quiz 8

WEEK 9

☑ 1. Inquiry Review a curated collection

☑ 2. Practical Review another student’s Storify submission

☑ 3. Technical Active and Passive Writing test

WEEK 10

☑ 1. Inquiry Review a website/brochure for formatting

☑ 2. Practical Review your blog – tasks and reflection

☑ 3. Technical Review your blog – technical accuracy


c. Reflect on the blogging tasks. Write a few sentences on your views of this assessment. What were your major challenges and how did you overcome these? Was it too hard/too easy/about right? Has it helped improve your writing?

As someone who did well at English throughout highschool, I found these blog posts rather easy to understand, and I was able to complete them without any dramas. I thought that the assessment was structured well in terms of making weekly posts, which for the most part helped me to keep on top of the assignment. Due to full time work, I did begin to fall behind a little toward the end of term, however, because none of the tasks were particularly onerous, it wasn’t too hard to catch up.

I think that my major challenges were getting used to the CQU Harvard method of referencing, and trying to structure my responses each week so that they weren’t just nonsensical ramblings. This has improved my writing by making me more likely to create a plan of what I am going to write before I actually write it. I don’t think that it was too hard or easy, I personally found that it was just challenging enough to keep me interested and thinking hard.


Reference List

Ames, K 2015, Week 10 – Impact of design, COMM11007 Media Writing, CQUniversity e-courses, http://moodle.cqu.edu.au/

2 thoughts on “Week 10 – 2. Practical: Review your blog

  1. Hi Dana,
    I really enjoyed reading this blog post 🙂 I appreciate the structure of your posts and find them quite humorous in parts. I think you’ve balanced humor with professionalism quite well which makes your blog posts easy to read.
    Great job,
    Thanks, Rachel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

